Early Learning Hub
This group is no longer active. It is kept around for archival purposes only.

Healthy Beginnings + Healthy Communities

On January 14, NW Health Foundation Logo2015 the Northwest Health Foundation awarded one-year organizing grants to 25 communities in Oregon and SW Washington as part of its Healthy Beginnings + Healthy Communities Initiative.  The Early Learning Hub of Linn, Benton & Lincoln Counties was awarded $30,000 as part of this Initiative.  Key outcomes to be accomplished through this grant period included:

  • Identifying key areas for critical input, engagement and leadership development among diverse parent/family communities in the region;
  • Improving understanding of the needs, strengths, and opportunities for better engaging diverse parent/family communities in Early Learning Hub planning and implementation activities;
  • Developing common language, goals, and outcomes related to family/community engagement aligned with the Early Learning Hub Strategic Plan; and
  • Ensuring planning process informs strategic investments of the Early Learning Hub and other education and health care transformation efforts.

 

Participating Members:

Tatiana Dierwechter
Benton County Health Department
tatiana.dierwechter@co.benton.or.us

Lynn Hall
Early Learning Hub
lynn.hall@linnbenton.edu

Hilary Harrison
CASA of Linn County
hilary@linncasa.org

Kristi May
Early Learning Hub
kristi.may@linnbenton.edu

MaiKia Moua
Benton County Health Department
maikia.moua@co.benton.or.us

Rocio Munoz
Benton County Health Department
rocio.munoz@co.benton.or.us

Shelley Paeth
Lincoln County Health & Human Services
spaeth@co.lincoln.or.us

Patty Parsons
Benton County Health Department
patricia.d.parsons@co.benton.or.us

Anne Peltier
Linn County Health Department
peltiera47@gmail.com

Jasper Smith
Benton County Health Department
jasper.smith@co.benton.or.us

 

On October 9, 2015, the Early Learning Hub staff submitted an application for an implementation grant from the Northwest Health Foundation; unfortunately, our application was declined. 

Grant Overview

Grant Application

 

The Early Learning Hub has a strong commitment to engaging families as partners in young children's development, and all Hubs are required to include parents in their governance structures and to use their feedback to drive community efforts. So, in spite of not having the additional funding, the Early Learning Hub will continue to build a foundation of equitable family engagement and support meaningful engagement with children and families from all the communities that we serve. Further, we are committed to developing relationships with culturally specific community-based organizations.

All future work in this area will be under the Parent Engagement Committee.

 

Upcoming Events | See past events

No upcoming events